

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

AUSTRALASIAN COLLEGE FOR INFECTION PREVENTION AND CONTROL LTD

The 2021 Annual General Meeting of ACIPC was held on Tuesday 9 November via Zoom. The Chair declared the meeting open at 5:12 pm AEDT.

ACIPC Board Members in attendance: Associate Professor Philip Russo (President, Chair), Kristie Popkiss (President-Elect), Professor Marilyn Cruickshank (Past-President), Michael Wishart, Dr Sally Havers, Dr Peta-Anne Zimmerman, Ann Whitfield, Kathy Dempsey, Dr Stéphane Bouchoucha, Kylie Robb, Mark Metherell, Dianne Smith.

ACIPC Financial Members in attendance: Robyn, Kristie Popkiss, Gillian Ray-Barruel, Min Tanuvasa Lene, Lisa Hall, Fiona Gotterson, Janine Carrucan, Donna Cameron, Lincoln Fowler, Jan Forber, Lynette Bowen, Annie Wells, Greg Pobjoy, Kaye Bellis, Debra Lee, Fiona De Sousa, Nicole Tolhurst, Wendy Khor, Andrew Ellis, Terri Cripps, Danielle Nuss, Marija Juraja, Paulina May, Huixin Liao, Maree Sommerville, Jenny Bourne, Jennifer Bradford, Nicole Baker, Mataya Kilpatrick, Sharon Kenny, Michelle Kennedy, Sue Atkins, Nicola Isles, Alice Brennan, Megan Reilly, Erica Short, Susan Oliver, Lesley Lewis, Louise Wright, Darren Martin, Shauna Goulden, Trish Hurst, Shama Rafeeq, Jocelyne Basseal, Leanne Coulson, Yvonne Fletcher, Stephen Burke, Judith Brett, Svetlana Podnar, Janine Brook, Wendy Peecock, Louise Scott, Lisa Campbell, Matt Mason, Helen Bucknell, Megan Gritt, Janet McCulloch, Elizabeth Skewes, Kate Haberfield, Suraksha Pathak, Elizabeth Dawson, Kirstie Hastie, Sylvia Gandossi, Belinda Henderson, Brett Mitchell

Non-voting members in attendance: Sally Day, Alex Mikus-Cunningham, Judith Penman, Joana Fernando, Melissa Mitchall, Elizabeth Haynes, Binita Acharya, Yun Zou, Christine Cordero, Wendy Khor.

ACIPC Staff in attendance: Ben Thiessen, Jackie Miley, Sara Kirby

1. Quorum confirmed and meeting declared open

A quorum was confirmed and the meeting was declared open at 17:12 pm.

2. Acknowledgment of Country

We acknowledge the Traditional Owners of country throughout Australia and New Zealand and recognise their continuing connection to land, waters, and culture. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging.

3. Welcome and introductions

The Chair welcomed members of the College to the AGM.

4. Apologies

Carolyn Ellis, Elizabeth Oakes, Aby Foster, Johanne Lonie



5. Declaration of proxies

Phil Russo for Elizabeth Oakes Belinda Henderson for Aby Foster Phil Russo for Johanne Lonie

6. Declarations of conflicts of interests

Nil declared.

7. Confirmation of previous AGM minutes

The minutes of the 2020 Annual General Meeting of ACIPC held on 17 November 2020 were made available to members prior to the meeting via email and the College's website.

Resolution:

That the minutes of the 2020 Annual General Meeting of ACIPC held on 17 November 2020 be accepted.

Moved: Matt Mason
Seconded: Brett Mitchell

The resolution was passed by a show of hands.

8. Presentation of Annual Report

The President discussed the activities of the College for the financial year and tabled the Annual Report.

Resolution:

That the Australasian College for Infection Prevention and Control Ltd's Annual Report, as tabled, be accepted.

Moved: Janine Carrucan Seconded: Robyn Morey

The resolution was passed by a show of hands.

9. Presentation of Audit and Annual Financial Statements

The audited financial statements as prepared by the College auditor were circulated in the Annual Report that was emailed to all members and available on the College's website. Executive Manager discussed key points of the College's financial operations for the financial year.

- Audited surplus of \$4.26M
- Equity of \$5.02M as at 30 June 2021
- Aged Care IPC Leads Project contributed \$3.813M to the surplus
- Individual Memberships are on track to grow by 15%
- FIPC income remains strong in FY22
- Opportunities exist for the College to develop education activities and grow membership further in FY22



Resolution:

That the Australasian College for Infection Prevention and Control Limited's audited financial statements for the period 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2021, as tabled, be accepted.

Moved: Sharon Kenny Seconded: Fiona de Sousa

The resolution was passed by a show of hands.

10. Appointment of Auditor

The Chair advised that the College needs to appoint an auditor for the College for the 2021-2022 financial year. The Board recommends Accru Rawsons be reappointed.

Resolution:

That Accru Rawsons Chartered Accountants be re-appointed as the auditor for the Australasian College for Infection Prevention and Control Ltd for the 2021-20212 financial year.

Moved: Lynette Bowen **Seconded:** Kaye Bellis

The resolution was passed by a show of hands.

11. Questions to the Board

Sharon Kenny asked if the College would consider national cleaning course. This was discussed in the context of various settings. The Chair suggested this be referred to the Education Committee to be considered when expanding the College education program.

Megan Reilly asked if the College would consider a mentoring program for IPC Leads. This was discussed as a way to support IPC Leads and other staff who are new to IPC. This will be referred to the Board for consideration.

Belinda Henderson asked if the College would look into IPCPs being recognised as a profession under AHPRA. It was noted most IPCPs would fall under the Nursing and Midwifery Board under the "Other" practice category. The was general discussion about the benefits of having IPCPs identified formally as a practice or as an endorsement. This will be referred to the Board for consideration.

Phil Russo invited Kristie Popkiss to announce the Appointment of the President-Elect and the Appointment of Directors.

12. Appointment of President-Elect

There were two candidates for President-Elect: Kylie Robb and Stéphane Bouchoucha. An online election was held over 10 days closing on Sunday 31 August. Stéphane Bouchoucha received the majority of votes.

Resolution:

That Stéphane Bouchoucha be appointed as President-Elect of ACIPC.



Moved: Belinda Henderson Seconded: Nicole Illes

The resolution was passed by a show of hands.

13. Appointment of Directors

Following the President-Elect election, there were seven nominations for seven positions Director positions available. An election for the positions of Directors was not required.

Resolution:

That Kylie Robb, Ann Whitfield, Kathy Dempsey, Peta-Anne Zimmerman, Janine Carrucan, Erica Short and Nicola Ilses are appointed as Directors of ACIPC.

Moved: Belinda Henderson Seconded: Robyn Morey

The resolution was passed by a show of hands.

14. General Business

There was no general business.

15. Meeting Close

The next Annual General Meeting of the Australian College for Infection Prevention and Control Ltd will be in Sydney, November 2022 during the annual conference.

The meeting was closed at 17:49 pm AEDT.

